Leave Regular Radio Behind
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

WEXT DJs' Best Music of 2017

Best of 2017

Here are the WEXT DJs' lists of best albums, songs, Local 518 of 2017. Let us know your thoughts by sending an email with this link

Dave Michaels

(Mon-Fri 5-9a)

Neil Young - “Hitchhiker”
Sean Rowe - “New Lore”
Beck - “Colors”
Robert Plant - “Carry Fire”
Chris Stapleton - “From A Room Volume 1”

Sharon Jones & The Dap-Kings - “Matter of Time”
JD McPherson - “Lucky Penny”
Sean Rowe - “Newton’s Cradle”
David Rawlings - “Cumberland Gap”
Jason Isbell & The 400 Unit - “If We Were Vampires”

Local 518:
Super Secret 518 - “WEXT 10”
Jocelyn & Chris Arndt - “Go”
Gordon Street - “Gordon Street”
Stellar Young - “Became A Flame” EP
Bryan Thomas - “Turbulent Indie Negro”

Chris Wienk
(Mon-Fri 3-9p)

Best Albums of 2017


  1. Super Secret 518 - "WEXT 10"
  2. Valerie June - “The Order of Time”
  3. Jimmer - “God Like The Sun”
  4. Sean Rowe - “New Lore”
  5. Josh Ritter - "Gathering"
  6. JD McPherson - "Undivided Heart & Soul"
  7. Beth Bombara “Map & No Direction”
  8. Father John Misty “Pure Comedy”
  9. Rorey Carroll “Love Is An Outlaw”
  10. Rodney Crowell “Close Ties”
  11. Jocelyn & Chris Arndt “Go”
  12. Peter Mulvey “Are You Listening?”
  13. The Suitcase Junket “Piledriver”
  14. Rebecca Loebe - "Blink"
  15. Korby Lenker - "Thousand Springs"

Andy Gregory
Local 518 Show (Thu 11p, Sat 6p)

Best Local 518 Albums / EPs

"WEXT 10" - The Super Secret Local 518 Compilation
(Featuring The Sea The Sea, Bear Grass, Bryan Thomas, Kimono Dragons, Stellar Young, Titanics, Cannon the Brave, Rebel Darling, Rodeo Barons, Ashley Sofia, The North & South Dakotas, The Parlor, Swamp Baby, Sawyer Fredricks)
Andy Sink - "Traitor"
Bendt - "Bendt"
Bryan Thomas - "The Tiny Black Album" | "Turbulent Indie Negro"
C.K. Flach - "Empty Mansions"
Capitle - "Greatest Hits Vol. 1 & Melodies of Capitle"
Great Mutations - "Victory Lap" 
Hand Habits - "Wildly Idle (Humble Before the Void)"
Jeremy James and the Villaineers - "The High Road"
Jocelyn & Chris Arndt - "Go"
Joe Mansman and The Midnight Revival Band - "Bastard"
Lüt - "Kinsman's Lament"
Sean Rowe - "New Lore"
Stellar Young - "Became A Flame"
Sydney Worthley - "Strong"
Wild Adriatic - "Feel"
Zan Strumfeld - "Book Of Belonging" 

Laura Glazer
Hello Pretty City (Sun 8a and 8p)


Shelley Short - "Pacific City"
Julie Byrne - "Not Even Happiness"
Ora Cogan - "Crickets"
The Innocence Mission - "The Snow on Pi Day"
Abram Shook - "Love at Low Speed"
Jay Som - "Everybody Works"
Alice Coltrane - "The Ecstatic Music of Alice Coltrane Turiyasangitananda"
Hand Habit - "Wildly Idle"
Real Estate - "In Mind"
She-Devils - "She-Devils"


Sundays 3-8p and Bluegrass Around The Bend




Mitch Woods - "Take this Hammer"
Nikki Lane - "Jackpot"
I Draw Slow - "My Portion"
Radney Foster - "All That I Require"
Tift Merritt - "Dusty Old Man"
Railroad Earth - "Captain Nowhere"
The Contribution - "Oh No"
Dan Auerbach - "Shine On Me"
Gregg Allman - "Willin'"
Gibson Brothers - "In the Ground"


Album of the year:


Gregg Allman - "Southern Blood"


This radio station started on July 7, 2007, and has been funded by awesome listeners since then. Thank you!