Leave Regular Radio Behind
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Buggy Jive, Sydney Worthley Take Top Honors at the Eddies Music Awards 

 Andy Gregory and Chris Wienk
Proctors Collaborative
Buggy Jive, Sydney Worthley take top honors at the 5th annual Eddies Music Awards

SCHENECTADY (April 28) – Soul rock singer-songwriter Buggy Jive took home both the Video and Album of the Year honors at the 5th annual Capital Region Thomas Edison Music Awards Sunday night at Proctors, and indie pop artist Sydney Worthley received Record of the Year.

Other big winners at the ceremony were Frank Cavone of Mirth Films who took home three awards, and WEXT Radio and Albany Symphony which each received two.

WEXT Radio won radio station of the year, and afternoon DJ Chris Wienk won the Radio DJ of the Year award.

The Eddies Music Awards are adjudicated by individuals who are active in the local music community and administered by Proctors Collaborative.

“In the first five years, we have had over 450 different individuals, bands and organizations nominated, some multiple times, for a total of 950 finalists,” said founder/ co-producer Jim Murphy. “There is a pre-party each year for the nominees. There is an annual Eddies Music Hall of Fame event. We featured over 45 artists performing at our events. All of it exists as a vessel for the music community to come together and celebrate.”

Since 2021, Eddies judges have also singled out individuals and organizations whose contributions to the music community don’t fit neatly in a traditional category. Merit award winners this year were:

  • Family Tree, a collective of five musicians (Steve Candlen, Chris Carey, Lori Friday, Kenny Hohman, Chad Ploss) that invite musical guests from the region to participate weekly at their 18-month-and-counting Monday night residency at Putnam Place in Saratoga.
  • “Courtyard Sessions” by Mirth Films, a 26-episode mini-concert video series featuring local musicians.
  • Instruments for Students, a program of the Vanguard, a support organization of the Albany Symphony, which has collected hundreds of musical instruments through the years, donating them through schools to families who cannot afford to rent or own their own instruments.

This year's 2023 Capital Region Thomas Edison Music Awards recipients are;
Live Production Crew of the Year 
Mirth Films

Presenter/Promoter of the Year 
Caffè Lena - Sarah Craig

Music Recording Studio of the Year 
Overit Studios

Record Label of the Year 
Cacophone Records

Music Journalist of the Year 
Michael Hochanadel

Music Photographer of the Year 
Frank Cavone

Arts Publication of the Year 

Radio DJ of the Year (terrestrial or streaming) of the Year 
Chris Wienk

Radio Station of the Year 

Classical Artist/Ensemble of the Year 
Albany Symphony Orchestra

World Music Artist of the Year 
Alex Torres & His Latin Orchestra

Jazz Artist of the Year 
Joe Barna

Electronica Artist of the Year 

Punk/Hardcore Artist of the Year 

Metal/Hard Rock Artist of the Year 
The Clay People

Merit Award 
Family Tree - Steve Candlen, Chris Carey, Lori Friday, Kenny Hohman, Chad Ploss

Merit Award 
Courtyard Sessions - Mirth Films

Merit Award 
Instruments for Students Vanguard - Albany Symphony Orchestra

R&B/Soul/Funk Artist of the Year 
Victory Soul Orchestra

DJ of the Year 
DJ Hollyw8d

Hip Hop/Rap Artist of the Year 
B. Chaps & Freedom Stratton

Country/Bluegrass Artist of the Year 
Jim Gaudet and The Railroad Boys

Country Cover Band of the Year 
Stony Creek Band

Americana Artist of the Year 
Reese Fulmer & The Carriage House Band

Folk/Traditional Artist of the Year (tie)
Drank The Gold

Folk/Traditional Artist of the Year (tie)
Michael Eck

Alt/Indie Artist of the Year
The Sea The Sea

Jam Band of the Year 
Annie in the Water

Blues Artist of the Year 
Nite Train with Thomasina Winslow

Party Cover Band of the Year 
Off The Record

Solo or Duo Artist of the Year (Originals) 

Solo or Duo Artist of the Year (Covers) 
Steve Candlen

Rock/Pop Artist of the Year 
Super 400

Songwriter of the Year
Girl Blue

Music Video of the Year 
Buggy Jive - “Encyclopedia Black and the Case of You”

Record of the Year 
Sydney Worthley - "How Soon Is Now?"

Album of the Year 
Buggy Jive - “The Ghost of Alexander”

More information and detail can be found on the Eddies Music Awards website